Faculty Senate Action Item

Subject: Revision of Honors Advisory Board Membership Terms

Justification: We are asking for a change in the duration of membership terms for members on the Honors Advisory Board. Specifically, the current terms do not allow the possibility for new members to join on a regular basis.

Old Language:

Membership includes the Dean of University Honors, one Library faculty member appointed by the Director of Mabee Library, one faculty member representing each of the Schools, one faculty member from each division in the College, and three students. Two of the students will be appointed by the President of the University Honors Student Council. The third student must be involved in Honors and will be appointed by the Washburn Student Government Association in consultation with the Honors Advisory Board.

New Language:

Membership includes the Dean of University Honors, one Library faculty member appointed by the Director of Mabee Library, one faculty member representing each of the Schools, one faculty member from each division in the College, and three students. Two of the students will be appointed by the President of the University Honors Student Council. The third student must be involved in Honors and will be appointed by the Washburn Student Government Association in consultation with the Honors Advisory Board. Members shall serve a term of two calendar years, beginning in the fall semester, but may be reappointed. Terms shall expire at the beginning of the fall semester of the years indicated below in parentheses and every two years thereafter:

- School of Business, CAS Humanities Division, Social Sciences Division, Education & Kinesiology Division (2011)
- School of Applied Studies, School of Nursing, Mabee Library, CAS Natural Sciences Division, Creative & Performing Arts Division (2012)

Financial Implications: None

Date: October 10, 2010

Submitted by: <u>Dr. Michael McGuire, Dean</u> University Honors Program